Read on to see why flaxseed hair gel is our go-to hair gel at the moment, why you should be using it and how to make your very own at home:

Flaxseed Hair Gel, Your New BFF

True story: One day I ran out of my favorite gel and while reading through natural hair care blogs on the internet, I stumbled across flaxseed hair gel. At first, I questioned how in the world flaxseeds even made gel, so I kept on reading. Afterwards, I did what just about every curious girl would do: I hopped on YouTube to see just how women are using flaxseed hair gel, and immediately became obsessed. Luckily for me, I already had a bag of flaxseeds in my fridge that I have been using as a dietary supplement—they’re good for your body, look it up!—so I used one of the hair gel recipes that I found online to make my own. Here’s what I did:

Flaxseed hair gel recipe

  1. Bring 2 cups of water and about 1/2 cup of flaxseeds to a boil.
  2. After bringing the contents in your pot to a boil, turn the fire off and allow it to cool.
  3. Pour the mixture into a strainer to remove any excess water, then pour the flaxseeds, now with their gel-like consistency into an old stocking.
  4. Grab an empty container and squeeze the stocking, so that you are straining the gel from the flaxseeds into the container. You can add an oil of your choice to your mixture or leave as is. I put some peppermint essential oil into my mixture just to give it a nice scent.

How to use flaxseed hair gel

To use the gel, you’d use it like you would any other hair gel, but I’d like to warn you that this stuff is gooey. It’s best to scoop out small amounts at a time, or the mixture can end up everywhere. Apply the gel to your hair as a styler and proceed to do whatever routine you are accustomed to.

Why use flaxseed hair gel

If you’re looking for a gel that also aids in moisturizing your hair, this is one of the best options to use. Flaxseed gel is super hydrating, has conditioning benefits and leaves your hair extremely soft without the crunch. There are many hair gels you can use instead of making your own flaxseed hair gel. If D.I.Y. hair gels aren’t your thing, you can try using a gel like Nexxus Exxtra Hold Sculpting Gel to create sleek hairstyles like slick updos, Suave Professionals Firm Control Sculpting Gel for creating fun hairstyles like finger waves, or TRESemmé Make Waves Shaping Gel to define your wavy hair texture. Want to try your hand at more D.I.Y. hair gels? Here’s why you’ll love aloe vera gel.

Why You Should Try Flaxseed Hair Gel On Your Locks - 40