Talking Blonde Hair with Alyssa Surrett of a-listed

All Things Hair: Favorite hair trend(s) from Fashion Week? Alyssa Surrett: You mean besides the rainbow dreadlocks? I absolutely loved all of the bleach blonde hair that graced the runway, but my favorite were the perfectly undone looks which are reminiscent of one of my favorite ’90s movies. All Things Hair: Explain your hair type and the types of hair-related issues you face, and how you cope. Alyssa Surrett: My natural hair color is a dark brown, but I decided I wanted platinum blonde hair at some point last year. I actually had no idea what I was getting myself into! The journey to the right icy blonde shade that I set out to achieve was filled with obstacles like breakage and dryness. Being a blonde is hard work! All Things Hair: What’s your signature hairstyle? Alyssa Surrett: This totally depends on the amount of time I have in the morning. On days when I have a few extra minutes of primp time, my hairstyle is a loose wave, created with a 1″ curling iron and lots of dry shampoo and texturizing spray. When I’m in a rush, I love a sleek low ponytail with a middle part. Just add red lips! All Things Hair: You recently went blonde, what inspired you and how are you liking your new hair color? Alyssa Surrett: I saw one particular image of one of my favorite celebrities with really platinum hair that sort of always stuck with me, but was nervous it wouldn’t work on me. Then, when I saw how great celebrities with natural brunette ‘dos looked with blonde hair —I pulled the trigger. All Things Hair: Walk us through your hair care routine? Alyssa Surrett: My daily hair care routine has definitely shifted since going lighter. To avoid heat styling, I spend much less time actually styling my hair and more time caring for my light locks with masques, oils and conditioners. I love the Tresemmé Color Revitalize Shampoo and the Tresemmé Color Revitalize Conditioner, so after using them in the shower, I will cover my hair in a serum and let it air-dry if there’s time. Low key, and heat-free! All Things Hair: What’s your favorite hair care secret? Alyssa Surrett:  Dry shampoo is my ride or die. I love Dove Refresh + Care Volume & Fullness Dry Shampoo. That meme about your hair being all dry shampoo by the end of the week, definitely rings true for me. All Things Hair: Name the one product or line you’re dying to try! Alyssa Surrett: Dove Absolute Curls Surpreme Creme Serum! I’ve read rave reviews and could use a regenerative beauty night—oil in hair, mask on face, wine in hand, Netflix on the TV. All Things Hair: Hair trend or color you totally want to try out next? Alyssa Surrett: I think the next hair transformation for me is the road back to being a brunette. I don’t think I’ll ever go back to such a dark shade, but I just love switching it up! Looking for even more hair interviews? Check out our interview with Brianne of Stroller In The City.

5 Minutes With Alyssa Surrett of a listed  Blonde Hair   Hair Care Secrets - 43